Scars.

So, I was watching this video on YouTube by Karimchii, one of the YouTubers I am subscribed to. He usually makes fun, entertaining videos but this time he talked about something serious. Scars. I’ve linked the video below if you want to watch it. In his video he talked about how he views scars as positive signs; sometimes of how you survived an accident or how you overcame a painful time in life. As I watched him talk about this, I couldn’t agree more to his views. But then I realized that I think differently about scars.

When I look at a scar on someone, I never think of it as “ugly” or “disgusting”. Truth Harry's Scaris, I don’t think of it as a negative or positive sign. It is just something some people have or don’t have. Neutral. That is, if you are not sporting a lighning bolt scar on your forehead. If you have that on you, I’d worship you.

Anyway, I kept pondering over the topic of scars even after the video ended. The video had talked about how scars could act as a reminder of something epic (good/bad) that happened in your past. But what about those scars which are a result of something unremarkable that happened to you? For example, a scar/mark left on your hand after an insect bit you? Or a scar/mark from a random bruise you don’t even remember? What about those scars from chickenpox you had as a child? Or from that one time you were careless with the iron box? Nothing major, but they are still there. Visible.

I have scars all over my face. Some of them are leftovers from skin allergies I had as a child. They haven’t faded even after all these years. Some others are from pimples I had as a teenager. They are horrible looking and do not remind me of anything cool or stupid or funny. They are just there. Part of me. Part of my face.

Do I like them? Obviously not.

Do I wish I had a clear skin? Yes.

Have I learned to live with it? Yes.

Scars don’t have to be stories of battles you fought with life. They don’t have to remind you of your past. They do not have to be significant. They can be simple marks left by a rogue pimple or a random cut. All you have to do is learn to live with it. Because at the end of the day, nobody, and I mean nobody cares about your marks. They all have their own faces and bodies and marks to worry about. Your face is 10 times better than you see it; your body is 100 times cooler than you give it credit for.  You don’t have to bring a concealer to every spot on your face or your body. Your scars don’t define you if you don’t want them to.

Chill, relax. Let those scars be seen. If they remind you of a past that you can now be proud of, tell the world about it. If it reminds you of a past you are scared to dig into, pull yourself out of that gutter; move on in the journey of life. If you don’t even remember the reason for that scar, don’t try figuring it out now, who the hell cares?!

Watch Karimchii’s Video here.

🙂

Hey, let's talk. Comment here :)